from the (okinawan) kitchen: german spaetzle

ImageSometimes I need a dinner side that just isn’t pasta or rice, but I still want some kind of carbohydrate to go with my protein and veg. I’m not really a potato girl unless we’re talking about sweet potatoes. Then, you’ll definitely have my attention. Every now and then, though, I break out the spaetzle recipe. It’s a German dish that I fell in love with the very first time I ate it in Bavaria. Being that both my husband and I are German, we love that we can add some traditional foods to our menu and hopefully soon introduce them to our son.

This recipe is my take on the little flour dumplings. I make them with a bit of nutmeg, but some people also choose to add onions or cheese to theirs. If you’ve never had them, then this is a good first dish to give them a whirl before mixing up the flavors.

Image

German Spaetzle.

Ingredients.

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

3/4 tsp nutmeg

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

3 Tbsp butter

In a medium sized bowl, mix the flour, salt, pepper, and nutmeg together. Add in the eggs and milk to the bowl, mixing until completely combined.

Boil about 5 cups of water in a medium sized pot. Using a metal cheese grater, mash the spaetzle mixture through the grater and into the pot. It should form tiny, stringlike pieces of dough. Bring the water down to simmering on medium low. Cook for about 5-8 minutes. If needed, make the spaetzle in batches. Strain out of the pot with a slotted spoon or a metal strainer.

In a saucepan, melt about 1 1/2 Tbsp of butter. Saute half of the spaetzle in the butter and move to a bowl to cool. Do the same with the remaining butter and spaetzle. Enjoy!

Image

Image

3 thoughts on “from the (okinawan) kitchen: german spaetzle

    • This recipe actually takes no time at all! The longest part is just pushing the mixture through the grater, and that all depends on how much you want to make. If you want a larger quantity to make in batches, then I bet you could freeze it. I haven’t frozen the spaetzle before, but I’ve had good luck with freezing other flour-based items and then reheating in the microwave or oven. You might want to double bag the spaetzle or wrap the container with plastic wrap and aluminum foil to keep them extra sealed. Hope that helps!

  1. This recipe seems simple, but it rivals the best German restaurants I’ve been to. Gotta love Spaetzle!

Leave a Reply

